Daft Punk have shared a rare, unmasked live performance of ‘Rollin & Scratchin’ from their archives online. The French duo first shared the clip as part of a one-off Twitch stream last year, during which they broadcast a full set filmed in LA’s Mayan Theater in 1997. The stream marked the one-year anniversary of their split in 2021, and the 25th anniversary of their landmark debut ‘Homework’. Now fans can revisit the performance sans robot masks via Daft Punk’s YouTube channel.

This continues Daft Punk’s post-breakup practice of digging deep into their archives to release refreshed videos and clips, such as this remastered versions of the ‘Da Funk’ and ‘Revolution’ 909′ videos. They even joined TikTok in October 2022. 

Revisit Gabriel Szatan’s January 2022 feature looking back on Daft Punk’s iconic ‘Homework’ for its 25th anniversary featuring interviews with DJ Deeon, Neil Landstrumm and more. Szatan’s new book ‘After Daft’, to be published by John Murray Press/Hachette UK later this year, explores the duo’s nearly three-decade run and impact on electronic music.

Watch the archival 1997 performance of ‘Rollin & Scratchin’. 

More music news:

Moby returns with his semi-annual tradition of releasing a new album of ambient compositions, with “Ambient 23”, a 16-track album.

Moby reflects on how he created the album: “It’s a bit different than some of my more recent Ambient records because it’s almost exclusively made with weird old drum machines and old synths from my collection, inspired by my early ambient heroes.”

In 2022 Moby launched his new label Always Centered at Night (ACAN) to make emotional, atmospheric music. With this idea in mind, the label brought us its debut release “Medusa”, a collaboration between Moby and Doja Cat collaborator Aynzli Jones. Next were “On Air” with serpentwithfeet, “Fall Back” with Akemi Fox and most recently the stripped-back orchestral “Ache For” with José James.

Multiple releases on ACAN are planned for 2023 and beyond, with other news coming soon.

Everything But The Girl are back together to record an album for the first time in 23 years, since their 1999 album “Temperamental” that is. The release was not planned as the duo says this on their Facebook page: “We never imagined at the start of 2022 that this would happen, and yet here we are.”

Everything But The Girl (occasionally referred to as EBTG) are an English musical duo formed in Kingston upon Hull in 1982, consisting of lead singer and occasional guitarist Tracey Thorn and guitarist, keyboardist, producer and singer Ben Watt. Their biggest hit was the song “Missing” which became a worldwide hit in a more electronic version, a bit like Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy The Silence” you can say which produced by Alan Wilder became a huge hit as well.

Until 2022, the band were inactive, and have not performed publicly since 2000. Thorn has said in interviews she dislikes performing live and will no longer sing in front of a live audience. After the group’s disbandment, Thorn and Watt released solo albums, and had indicated that it was unlikely they would ever record together again as Everything But the Girl.

The new Everything But The Girl album will be released in Spring 2023.