More details on the upcoming Talk Talk tribute album

May 30, 2012 · Posted in Uncategorized 

In September 2012, the Fierce Panda label will be releasing “Spirit Of Talk Talk”, a double album which features 30 contemporary acts from around the globe re-inventing, re-interpreting Talk Talk’s greatest moments precisely 30 years since “Talk Talk” made its mark on the mainstream. More details have now bleached out and it seems that the tribute release will be a real who-is-who album with lots of cult ‘Talk Talk’ names involved.

Conceived and co-ordinated by Toby Benjamin and massaged into shape by musical director Alan Wilder, this twin CD features artwork by original Talk Talk artwork designer James Marsh (using the cover he created in 1983 for a prospective album “Chameleon Hour” which was never released) and sees profits going to The Rare Bird Club charity. Note that the album has been mastered by Denis Blackham who was also responsible for mastering many of Talk Talk’s albums.

The album accompanies the “Spirit Of Talk Talk” book, to be published in September as well by the Essential imprint. Pre-ordering will begin in the next few days from Fierce Panda’s on-line store at .

The album features 30 artists, including: Alan Wilder (Recoil), White Lies, King Creosote, Jason Lytle (Grandaddy), Zero 7, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Joan As Police Woman, Sean Carey (Bon Iver), Lights, Goldheart Assembly, Thomas White (Electric Soft Parade), Fyfe Dangerfield (Guillemots), Thomas Feiner, The Black Ships, Turin Brakes, as well as Ian Curnow, David Rhodes, Gaynor Sadler and Martin Ditcham, all of whom worked with Talk Talk.

Track listing :CD 1

  1. WEALTH – Lone Wolf
  3. I BELIEVE IN YOU – S.Carey
  4. DUM DUM GIRL – Recoil ( feat. Shara Worden )
  5. LIFE’S WHAT YOU MAKE IT – Duncan Sheik
  6. THE RAINBOW – Thomas Feiner, Fyfe Dangerfield, Robbie Wilson
  7. AFTER THE FLOOD – Halloween, Alaska
  8. IT’S GETTING LATE IN THE EVENING – Peter Broderick, Nils Frahm, Davide Rossi
  9. GIVE IT UP – King Creosote
  10. LIVING IN ANOTHER WORLD – Lights ( feat. Darkstars )
  11. THE RAINBOW – Zelienople
  12. MYRRHMAN – Joan As Police Woman
  13. RUNEII – The Last Dinosaur
  14. ? – Jack Northover

    CD 2

  15. IT’S MY LIFE – The TenFiveSixty
  16. INHERITANCE – Recoil ( feat. Linton Kwesi Johnson & Paul Marshall )
  17. ASCENSION DAY – Turin Brakes
  18. TODAY – White Belt Yellow Tag
  19. I DON’T BELIEVE IN YOU – Ian Curnow ( feat. Human )
  20. CHAMELEON DAY – Goldheart Assembly
  21. APRIL 5TH – Matthias Vogt Trio
  22. NEW GRASS – Do Make Say Think
  23. TOMORROW STARTED – Jason Lytle
  24. GIVE IT UP – White Lies
  25. TIME IT’S TIME – Lia Ices
  26. THE PARTY’S OVER – The Lovetones
  27. CANDY – Thomas White
  28. RENĂ©E – The Black Ships ( feat. Amelia Tucker )
  29. TAPHEAD – The Acorn
  30. I BELIEVE IN YOU – Richard Reed Parry

    Additional bonus tracks available to download at digital stores :

  31. ASCENSION DAY – Minerva Lions
  32. IT’S MY LIFE – Mike Gill ( feat. Robert Owens )
  33. EDEN – Kurran & The Wolfnotes

Via SL


Comments are closed.

  • THE CAVE : Playlist


    No images found!
    Try some other hashtag or username
Get Adobe Flash player