Rough Trade Release Electronic Compilation – Electronic 11

December 15, 2011 · Posted in Uncategorized 

Rough Trade Shops’ latest compilation, Electronic 11, is due for release on the 16th January and looks set to be rather good. It gathers together a nice selection of music we’ve been posting about over the past year – everything from the synth-pop styles of Ford & Lopatin and John Maus through Azari & III’s fat, disco-leaning house to some bleak, bracing industrial/noise from the likes of Pansonic and Ekoplekz.

22 tracks, full sleevenotes. exclusive limited edition varnished sleeve available from rough trade shops only. the new rough trade shops compilation cd is aimed squarely at the new year. shiny, fresh, clean and minimal electronic music in your earphones provide the perfect soundtrack for the cold and frosty early january. as rob young writes in the sleevenotes – check emeralds’ mark mcguire’s glowing ‘alma’, which begins with a hymn; or nicolas jaar’s incantatory ‘space is only noise if you can see’, like a dubbed-out depeche mode. at the other end of the scale, prurient and keiji haino (in tandem with finnish sub-bass spelunkers pansonic) use the full throated roar and the abject howl of the avant garde and the hardcore. meanwhile, compare rustie’s dense ‘hyperthrust’, with its micro-events folded up and crammed into milliseconds, with alva noto’s ‘uni deform’ bitcrush collision, which emerges from the rarefied world of conceptual sound art. marcus schmickler, who can occasionally be found making exploratory post-rock as pluramon, sends your ears down a labyrinth of no return with the abstract operations of ‘discordance axis’, closely followed by ekoplekz’s hallucinatory tone-scrub, jarring and alienating as an mk-ultra mind-control experiment. in ‘and the world laughs with you’, brainfeeder’s shapeshifting boss flying lotus invites thom yorke to jack into a cybernautical call and response session. even the most outwardly conventional track here, hercules and love affair, has its house 4/4 scraped and sandblasted with gravelly patches of digital irritant. ford and lopatin’s ’emergency room’ is like some unearthly fusion of scritti politti and heaven 17; john maus’s swooning portamento synthi-fanfares summon up the fairlight manoeuvres of the thompson twins and blancmange. azari and iii’s ‘manhooker’ transports you back to sun-up at some orbital rave at the very close of that strange plastic decade” comprising sound art, dubstep, chill-wave, witch house, electro-pop, digital hip hop, tech-minimalism, electro-house, and metal-machine music supplied by labels such as editions mego, warp, blastfirstpetite, raster-noton, type, skam, tri angle and more. rte11 is selected by the staff at both london shops and is, stylistically, as varied a set of tracks that you would expect from us.

The full tracklist runs as follows:

Rene Hell – ‘Oxford Meter End’
Nicholas Jaar – ‘Space Is Only Noise If You Can See’
Flying Lotus – ‘& The World Laughs With You ft. Thom Yorke’
Shackleton/King Midas Sound – ‘Deadman (Death Dub)’
Ayshay – ‘WARN-U’
John Maus – ‘Head For The Country’
Ford & Lopatin – ‘Emergency Room’
Rustie – ‘Hyperthrust’
Hercules & Love Affair – ‘My House’
Azari & III – ‘Manhooker’
Modeselektor – ‘Evil Twin’
Death Grips – ‘Guillotine’
Sensational meets Koyxen – ‘+weekend2 (remix work)’
Alva Noto – ‘Uni Deform’
Anne James Chaton – ‘Pop Is Dead’
Marcus Schmickler – ‘Discordance Axis’
Ekoplekz – ‘Critical Condition’
Pansonic & Keiji Haino – ‘If I Could Incarnate This Feeling Would You Consider It A Creation’
Prurient – ‘A Meal Can Be Made’
Solar Bears – ‘Twin Stars’
Mark McGuire – ‘Alma (Reprise)/Chances Are’
Ben Frost – ‘O God Protect Me’

Pre-order here >>


Comments are closed.

  • THE CAVE : Playlist


    No images found!
    Try some other hashtag or username
Get Adobe Flash player