YMO synth jam

September 17, 2010 · Posted in Uncategorized · Comments Off on YMO synth jam 

A slowed-down ambient-ish cover of Rydeen (ライディーン) by Yellow Magic Orchestra, written by Yukihiro Takahashi. Played on a Roland Juno-6 with a Korg Microkorg providing the ‘percussion

The problem of listening to music while working or studying

January 14, 2009 · Posted in Electronic Music · 2 Comments 

What is really the best music to listen to when working or studying? I know a lot of people who can sit with their headphones on listening to heavy pumping trance music or hard core rock music. For me this is impossible, I get totally un-concentrated and un-focused. First of all music at work has to be played in speakers (if OK by your fellow employees) so that the music will not be to intense right into your brain.

But the real problem is two folded; first the music you listen to has to be good enough to put you in a pleasant mode and hopefully excited about doing what you’re supposed to be doing (studying / working); secondly the music has to be bad enough not to have you listen more to the music than what you’re supposed to be doing – again work or study.

Lo-fi experimental electronic music is perfect for this and there are a couple of records that keep coming back to when studying AND the best thing is that they are both Japanese albums – having that great advantage that you do not understand all what they are singing about, and thus, you cannot sing along.

So please enjoy these two musician’s albums while working or studying, but make sure to listen to them in your speakers on a fairly low level and not in your headphones. Enjoy!

Yukihiro Takahashi (高橋幸宏 Takahashi Yukihiro, born June 6, 1952) is a Japanese musician, who is best known as the drummer and lead vocalist of the Yellow Magic Orchestra.Yukihiro Takahashi first came to prominence as the drummer of the Sadistic Mika Band, and became known to western audiences after this band (led by Kazuhiko Katoh, formerly of The Folk Crusaders) toured and recorded in the United Kingdom. After the Sadistic Mika Band disbanded, some of the members (including Takahashi) formed another band called The Sadistics, who released several albums. Finally Takahashi recorded his first solo album Saravah in 1977. In 1978, Takahashi joined Ryuichi Sakamoto and Haruomi Hosono to form the Yellow Magic Orchestra.


Takako Minekawa; as an accomplished all-around musician, Minekawa’s musical skills set her firmly outside of the J-Pop “idol” tradition: she writes and composes most of her material, singing quirky lyrics about subjects such as clouds, cats, and the color white (her personal favorite), with her love of Kraftwerk and French Pop Music also showing through her unique experimental sound. She often makes use of vintage Casio keyboards and analog Moog synthesizers, as well as vocoders and other electronic instruments.


New cool album from my old guru – Hideki Matsutaki

October 1, 2008 · Posted in Electronic Music · Comments Off on New cool album from my old guru – Hideki Matsutaki 

(※ ♪マーク付きの曲はページ下部で試聴できます)
1. Turning Point – Epilogue ( Comp : H.Matsutake )
2. Hypnotize ( lyrics : A.Muto , Comp : J.Irie )♪
3. Wandering On The Road ( Comp : A.Kosaka )
4. Digiphone ( Comp : K.Yamamoto)
5. 桜繚乱 ( lyrics : N.Oikawa , Comp : J.Irie )♪
6. THOUSAND KNIVES ( Comp : R.Sakamoto )♪
7. Sweet Memories ( lyrics : T.Matsumoto , Comp : M.Omura )
8. Nenkororo (MOSH) ( Comp : K.Hiro)
9. LEFT-HANDED WOMAN ( Comp : K. Omura )♪
10. LOVE ( lyrics : A.Muto , Comp : J.Irie )
11. Y.M.C.A. ( lyrics : Belolo Henri , Comp : Morali Jacques )♪
12. a long cool rain ( Comp : A.Kosaka )
13. Go!! Rise!! Cow!! ( Comp : K.Yamamoto )
14. Land of 1000 Dances ( lyrics & Comp : KENNER CHRIS )
15. Some Enchanted Evening ( lyrics :Hammerstein Oscar II , Comp : Rodgers Richard )
16. Turning Point – Prologue ( Comp : H.Matsutake )

Check it out here >>

Logic System is a musical project of Hideki Matsutake. Hideki started as an assistant for Isao Tomita in the 70’s and is well-known as the sequencer programmer and modular synthesizer operator for the Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO), but he wasn’t a member of YMO. He worked on several of their albums and toured with his huge collection of synths. He also did sequencing work for numerous technopop albums for other artists, particularily in the early 80’s. In 1996 he performed in a big concert event organized by Isao Tomita and was also guest on Towa Tei albums. On his website is a huge number of MIDI files he released, with some of YMO’s original songs.

New YMO fan site – check it out :-)

August 26, 2008 · Posted in Electronic Music · Comments Off on New YMO fan site – check it out :-) 

Got this tip on my blog today, a guy in the UK has started an YMO fan page, definately worth checking out :-)


YMO >> Logic System

May 30, 2008 · Posted in Electronic Music · Comments Off on YMO >> Logic System 

Justcame to think about it, if you are a fan of YMO, just like me than you really should check this old 80’s band out. They are especially good if you are studying since this music is good enough to get you into a relaxed moe when trying to focus, but “bad” enough not to get you engaged and start sing a long (this is especially tru since it is instrumental, at least mostly, and you do not understand any of it since it is in japanese.

So let me introduce one of my old time favorites the Logic System

Enjoy and have a nice weekend…



btw sorry it is only still images in the “video”

Finally!! YMO reunited

May 30, 2008 · Posted in Electronic Music · Comments Off on Finally!! YMO reunited 

Wish I had enough resources to attend, anyone feel like sponsoring me, hehe

Seminal Japanese electronic act Yellow Magic Orchestra will reunite for a performance at this year’s Meltdown festival, taking place June 13-22 at the Southbank Centre in London, UK. Founded by experimental composer Ryuichi Sakamoto, Yellow Magic Orchestra last performed at the Live Earth festival in 2007. This year’s Meltdown festival, curated by trip-hop act Massive Attack, will also feature shows by acts such as Gang of Four, The Tom Tom Club and George Clinton, plus a special performance of the Blade Runner film soundtrack played by the Heritage Orchestra and mixed by Massive Attack. Visit the links for more information.

An old time favorite of course


« Previous Page

  • THE CAVE : Playlist


    No images found!
    Try some other hashtag or username
Get Adobe Flash player